Who We Are

Who We Are


John Scott QC

Vice Convenor

Professor Richard Sparks


Dinah Aitken


Hugh Craig FCCA

Communication Secretary

Alan Mairs

To contact Howard League Scotland about press, policy or public affairs, please use the form.

Emma Jardine - Policy and Public Affairs Manager

Emma worked previously at Whitespace (Scotland), researching, briefing, developing and presenting behaviour change campaigns with Scottish Government Marketing and Policy teams. She recently completed an MSc in Criminology and Criminal Justice at the University of Edinburgh. As Policy and Public Affairs Manager, Emma manages and cordinates HLS's policy portfolio, social media and research agenda. Contact her at: emma@howardleague.scot

Board Members:

Richard Sparks 

Richard is Professor of Criminology at the University of Edinburgh. From 2006-16 Richard was Co-Director of the Scottish Centre for Crime and Justice Research, and from 2014-17 was Head of the Law School at the Univeristy of Edinburgh. Richard's current research has two main strands, namely, i) the relationships between policies, discourses and practices of crime control and punishment and democratic politics; and ii) the past, present and future of imprisonment in these islands.

Miranda Alcock

Miranda Alcock is a retired Senior Manager in Audit Scotland where she worked from 2001. Her most recent role was as Audit Scotland’s policy lead for justice, with overall responsibility for delivering national performance audits on justice-related topics, including An Overview of Scotland’s Criminal Justice System (2011), Reducing Reoffending in Scotland (2012), and Police Reform: Progress Update 2013.

Lucy Blackburn

A senior civil servant in the Scottish Government until 2011, Lucy was head of the Reducing Reoffending Division between 2004 and 2006, with responsibility for legislation on the management of offenders and a review of prison visiting committees, among other things. She also led on arrangements for the first elections to the Scottish Parliament in 1999. She was an Executive Member of the Board of Historic Scotland between 2006 and 2011. She is now a freelance consultant, where her work includes a part-time role as co-coordinator for the Scottish Policy Innovation Forum.

Antony Duff

Antony Duff taught Philosophy  at the University of Stirling, where he is now a Professor Emeritus; he also holds an honorary position at the Edinburgh Law School; for five years he held a chair at the University of Minnesota Law School, where he co-founded the Robina Institute of Criminal Law and Criminal Justice. His research is in the philosophy of criminal law and punishment, exploring the role that criminal law should play in a democratic society. He chaired the working group that produced the British Academy Report, A Presumption Against Imprisonment (2014).​

Fiona Dyer

Fiona is Interim Director of CYCJ (Centre for Youth and Criminal Justice) and manages the IVY (Interventions for Vulnerable Youth) service, which is a high risk psychological and social work mental health service for young people who present a risk to others. Previous to joining CYCJ, Fiona was seconded to the Scottish Government youth justice team for three years, initially as Project Manager for the young people who offend project, and latterly to support the national implementation of the Whole System Approach. Prior to this, she worked for ten years as a social worker and social work manager within the fields of youth and criminal justice.

Fiona Jamieson

Dr Fiona Jamieson joined the Board of Howard League Scotland in January 2018. Fiona has enjoyed several careers in criminal justice in Scotland; first as Reporter to the Children's Panel then for many years as a prosecutor in Scotland. She undertook doctoral research on judicial culture and practice and is currently Senior Teaching Fellow in Criminology at the School of Law, University of Edinburgh. Fiona's research interests include sentencing practice, punishment cultures and criminal justice reform.

Alan Mairs 

Alan is the Communications Officer at community justice voluntary organisation, Sacro.

Maggie Mellon

Maggie Mellon is an independent social worker, mainly supporting parents and families in relation to child protection and care proceedings. She was a member of the Scottish Consortium on Crime and Criminal Justice. As a member of Women For Independence Maggie helped lead a successful campaign against plans for Inverclyde, the new women's prison. She was involved with Justice Watch, where women went to courts across Scotland to try to find out why we imprison so many women.

Sue Moody

Sue Moody's first career was as a criminal justice researcher  Since then she has been the Director of Victim Support Scotland, senior lecturer in the Law Faculty at Dundee University and the Head of victim services and policy for COPFS.  She also advised the Scottish Government in relation to redress for survivors of child abuse in care. She is now retired and is currently a member of the Scottish Sentencing Council. 

Justina Murray

Justina Murray joined the Board of Howard League Scotland in September 2017. She is currently CEO of Scottish Families Affected by Alcohol and Drugs, a role she took up in June 2017 following seven years as Chief Officer of South West Scotland Community Justice Authority. Prior to this Justina held roles in community planning, public policy, equal employment opportunities and research in Scotland and New Zealand. She lives in West Kilbride in North Ayrshire. 

Beth Weaver

Beth is a Senior Lecturer, School of Social Work and Social Policy, an Associate Director, Scottish Centre for Crime and a Justice Research Research Consultant, Centre for Youth and Criminal Justice. She has specific interests in desistance, user involvement and co-production and the use of through-the-prison-gate social cooperative structures of employment. All of her research has an applied focus on penal reform.

Katrina Morrison

Katrina is a part-time lecturer in criminology at Edinburgh Napier, having previously been on a two year secondment to the Scottish Prison Service. She has worked with the Scottish Centre for Crime and Justice Research (University of Glasgow) on a project examining the policing and security of the Glasgow Commonwealth Games 2014. She has a BA (Hons) in Sociology and Social policy from the University of Edinburgh, and received the James Clerke Memorial prize for Best Social Policy Dissertation on the topic of introducing restorative justice practices in Scottish criminal justice. She went on to study for an MSc in Criminology and Criminal Justice, where her dissertation examined the history of rehabilitation in Scottish prisons. Her PhD examined the effects of devolution on Scottish criminal justice, drawing on theoretical frameworks from social and political sciences and interviews from criminal justice policy-makers and practitioners.